Created July 2008
Overview of Arkansas Alcohol Laws
It is against the law to sell alcohol to minors (under age 21). If you sell alcohol, you must post a notice about under-
age drinking. The Alcoholic Beverage Control Board may offer specifics as to how the notice should be posted; but
the notice must:
state that giving and selling to minors is illegal
state the consequences for selling to a minor
be posted where the public can see it
If you sell alcohol to a minor, you may be sued for:
injury to the minor
injury to another person, caused by the minor
If you knowingly sell alcohol to a minor (or trade alcohol for money or any other item or service), you could:
get a Class D felony the first time
get a Class C felony if you are convicted a second time within 5 years
be imprisoned, fined, or both, for a second conviction within 5 years
A summary for retailers
This document is provided for informational purposes only. Please consult the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board for more information
on the laws related to the sale of alcoholic beverages in Arkansas. Arkansas Code can be accessed at the following link:
http://184.108.40.206/data/ar_code.asp. For more information about substance abuse prevention, contact:
Alcohol and Drug Abuse Prevention
305 South Palm Street • Little Rock, AR 72205
What you should know about underage drinkers ...
What you should know about selling to intoxicated patrons...
It is against the law to sell alcohol to someone who is clearly intoxicated (drunk). If you sell to someone who is clearly
intoxicated, you may be sued if the intoxicated person causes an injury to someone else.
What you should know about underage workers ...
It is almost always against the law for a person under 21 to touch, move, or sell alcohol while working for any busi-
ness which sells or transports alcohol. If you break these laws, you will be fined. However, there are a few excep-
tions to the law.
With written permission from a pa