New Jersey Driver Manual
Losing the Driving Privilege
As required by New Jersey law, a motorist’s driving privileges will
be suspended for some violations. If you lose your license for a
drunk driving conviction or any other violation, you cannot drive for
any reason until the period of suspension ends and your license
is restored. These laws are designed to protect every driver. Thor-
ough knowledge of New Jersey’s traffic laws is necessary for every
driver. Don’t be a Habitual Offender. A Habitual Offender is a driver
whose license has been suspended three times in three years.
Failure by a motorist to pay motor vehicle-related judgments rendered
because of personal injury or death, or damage to property in excess
of $500, will result in driver license and registration suspensions.
Depending on a driver’s history of traffic violations, a suspension
or revocation of driving privileges could occur. Suspensions are
decided on a case-by-case basis. If the sentence is not manda-
tory, the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission
(MVC), or the courts, may suspend driving privileges.
How to Lose Driving Privileges:
• failure to appear in court or to pay fines
• failure to pay surcharges
• driving while suspended
• failure to provide proof of insurance
• physical or mental disqualification
• drug or alcohol use
• repeated traffic law violations
• reckless driving (without regard for life or property)
• vehicle abandonment on a public highway
• at fault in a fatal accident
MVC’s Chief Administrator may require a re-examination for any
driver considered a problem driver. This re-examination will help
to determine whether driving privileges will be suspended.
Motorists under 21 years old, the legal age in New Jersey to pur-
chase and/or consume alcoholic beverages, found with a blood
alcohol concentration above .01 while operating a motor vehicle
will be penalized.
New Jersey Motor