INSTRUCTIONS FOR FLORIDA FAMILY LAW RULES OF PROCEDURE FORM 12.902(b),
FAMILY LAW FINANCIAL AFFIDAVIT (SHORT FORM)
When should this form be used?
This form should be used when you are involved in a family law case which requires a financial affidavit
and your individual gross income is UNDER $50,000 per year.
This form should be typed or printed in black ink. After completing this form, you should sign the form
before a notary public or deputy clerk. You should file the original with the clerk of the circuit court
in the county where the petition was filed and keep a copy for your records.
What should I do next?
A copy of this form must be mailed or hand delivered to the other party in your case, if it is not served on
him or her with your initial papers. This must be accomplished within 45 days of service of the petition.
Where can I look for more information?
Before proceeding, you should read “General Information for Self-Represented Litigants” found at
the beginning of these forms. The words that are in “bold underline” in these instructions are defined
there. For further information, see rule 12.285, Florida Family Law Rules of Procedure.
If this is a domestic violence case and you want to keep your address confidential for safety reasons, do
not enter the address, telephone, and fax information at the bottom of this form. Instead, file Petitioner’s
Request for Confidential Filing of Address, Florida Supreme Court Approved Family Law Form
The affidavit must be completed using monthly income and expense amounts. If you are paid or your
bills are due on a schedule which is not monthly, you must convert those amounts. Hints are provided
below for making these conversions.
Hourly - If you are paid by the hour, you may convert your income to monthly as follows:
Hours worked per week
52 Weeks per year
12 Months per year